CM Becton Requests Community Support for Bill 2018-271

Jacksonville, FL (October 24, 2018) -- Councilmember Becton is requesting community support for his Neighbor and Taxpayer Protection legislation 2018-271 as special interest groups push back. He needs you to contact city council per the email address below to express your support!

The legislation 2018-271 is Councilman Becton’s initiative for improving new neighborhoods and protecting Tax Payers by updating local building code standards to improve residential streets to make them wider and to allow for newly built roads to be constructed in phases as to having a new road look like new once a new neighborhood is built-out. In addition, it adds new warranties for any right-of-way improvements to protect taxpayers against materials and workmanship.

The following list is included in Councilman Becton’s 2018-271 White Paper:

  • To require bonding or other guarantees for “platted” right-of-way infrastructure improvements during construction and warranty bonding upon acceptance of those improvements, including roadways, curb and gutters, drainage piping, structures, and sidewalks.
  • To require all local streets in a residential subdivision in RLD-60 zoning district or smaller to require minimum twenty-four (24) feet, not including curb and gutter.
  • To require a two-lift pavement system in the building of new roadways.
  • To provide for a requirement to connect parking lots creating a “service drive” for business and commercial property owners upon substantial improvements based on criteria as defined.

Councilman Becton said the legislation conditions were inspired by communities within District 11, and across the City of Jacksonville whereby higher density neighborhoods have created unique needs.

“Over the past four years, I have seen newly planned neighborhoods almost exclusively planned out to be 40, 50- and 60-foot lot sizes,” Becton explained. “These smaller lot sizes create higher density communities whereby parking, specifically out on the street creates a public safety hazard.” Becton added.

“Neighborhoods with these smaller lot sizes do not provide much room for parking for friends, family and visitors as the current requirement for ancillary roadways within neighborhoods is only 20 feet,” Becton continued. If two cars happened to park on both sides of the roadway across from each other, it is impossible for a large fire truck or public safety vehicle to pass.”

Also, inspired by past neighborhoods issues within District 11, include some neighborhoods that have seen newly built roads look terrible after acceptance with the city. “Large trucks and construction crews damage the roadways, curbing and leave the repairs to the tax payer,” Becton explain. “What is being changed in this bill is the road building process; to change it from a one-lift implementation to a two-lift process, that is completed when more of the homes have been built,” Becton noted.

Councilman Becton is asking for the communities’ help to express their support and to urge council members to pass this legislation. Right now, the legislation is in Transportation and Energy committee on November 5 and has been “deferred” by the Land Use and Zoning committee until at least November 20th as a result of industry opposition.

Please let the following council members know how important this legislation is to keep our roads passable for public safety and in the condition for which new neighborhoods deserve.

This Bill has passed out of Three COJ Advisory Committees:

Subdivision Standards and Policy Advisory Committee 9/11 (Passed Unanimously), Context Sensitive Streets, 9/18 (Passed Unanimously) and Planning Commission, 11/7 (Passed by a Vote of 7 – 2)

2018-271 White Paper - CM Danny Becton

2018-271 COJ Planning and Development Staff Report

2018-271 Bill as Amended for Committee

Council Member Listing: City Council Listing

Council Committee(s) Listing and Information: City Council Committee Listings

Transportation Energy and Utility: (Scheduled to Hear Bill on 11/7/2018)
Council Member Al Ferraro, Chair, Ferraro@coj.net
Council Member Jim Love, Vice Chair, jimlove@coj.net
Council Member Anna Lopez Brosche, abrosche@coj.net
Council Member Reggie Gaffney, rgaffney@coj.net
Council Member John Crescimbeni, jrc@coj.net
Council Member Scott Wilson, swilson@coj.net
Council Member Terrance Freeman, tfreeman@coj.net

Land-Use and Zoning: (Deferred till 11/20/2018 by LUZ Chair)
Council Member Matt Schellenberg, Chair, MattS@coj.net
Council Member Anna Lopez Brosche, abrosche@coj.net
Council Member Al Ferraro, Ferraro@coj.net
Council Member Reggie Gaffney, rgaffney@coj.net
Council Member JuCoby Pittman, jpittman@coj.net
Council Member Randy White, randywhite@coj.net

Other Notable Council Members to contact:
Council Member Joyce Morgan, JoyceMorgan@coj.net
Council Member Lori Boyer, LBoyer@coj.net
Council Member Aaron Bowman, ABowman@coj.net
Council Member Garrett Dennis, GarrettD@coj.net
Council Member Bill Gulliford, Gulliford@coj.net
Council Member Tommy Hazouri, THazouri@coj.net
Council Member Greg Anderson, GAnderson@coj.net
Council Member Samuel Newby, SNewby@coj.net